Plakias > Plakias

first timers

(1/3) > >>

karen waugh:
Hi all, our first stay in Plakias this June, we are staying in Tasomanolis Studios for thirteen nights, (our first night spent at the Sofia Hotel in Heraklion..late flight arrival), pick up our hire car and tootle off towards Plakias, any advice for first timers would be more than welcome.
 I like to plonk myself on a sunbed and read,( I'm a nurse and this fortnight is to completely recharge my batteries)  watching the world go by, shuffle to a taverna for lunch and a mooch around the shops etc  and OH likes to wander off on local (hour long) walks.

we intend to use the car on alternate days to get out and about to local villages and visit the Matala festival on saturday 23rd June (led zep and AC/DC tribute bands :) ) we have stayed in Crete many times although have so far not travelled to Plakias and around xx

my husband also likes to scuba and snorkel, are there good places around the bay for this ??? many thanks xxx

JackieatUrbanAgenda:
Hi......I think the simple answer is 'you're going to love it' ! It is perfect for relaxing on the beach or round the pool (loads of sunloungers), fantastic tavernas (some really excellent food and a great welcome), a few shops and loads of walks of all sorts of lengths and types. If you don't mind not having the loungers there are some amazing secluded beaches (some of which are clothes optional). There's nothing like lazing in a warm sea, looking up and watching an eagle flying above you.....or, better still, being woken up by the cry of an eagle hunting. It is that peaceful.....even though there is music and entertainment if you want it...a sort of all inclusive resort in one village.